March 6, 2020

Share this on:

Malabarians raring to go against Kerala Blasters FC

Kozhikode, March 6: Gokulam Kerala FC face Kerala Blasters in the final of the Kerala Premier League in a high-octane match at EMS Corporation Stadium on Saturday. The kickoff is at 6 PM and this will be the first time Kerala Premier League final held under floodlights.
Both the teams had played a match each in their home grounds in the group stages of the Kerala Premier League with Gokulam winning the home fixture, 1-0, and drawing the away match, 1-1 held in Kochi.
Gokulam have entered the knockout phases with eight wins, one draw and a loss from Group ‘A’. For Gokulam, Emil Benny has topped the score sheet with six goals.
Malabarian’s reserve team has played six tournaments this year and have reached final in four tournaments. “The main idea behind the reserve team is to help the players get maximum exposure for next season. Several of the players will be playing in the ILeague next season. Last year also we had promoted several players from our reserve team to the ILeague squad,” said Bino George, the technical director of Gokulam Kerala FC.
“The average age of the players is 21 years and there are several promising talents in the team. Five of them have played Santosh Trophy for Kerala. The KPL final will be the fourth final in the season. To make them ready for the I League next year, we are following the same style of playing of senior team,” he said.
Gokulam reserve team has won Independence Cup and Bodousa Cup this season. Malabarians have also reached the final of Mayor’s Cup and now Kerala Premier League.
“The final match will be a good one for spectators. Everyone has been waiting for this match. They are a good team that consists of talented players. We are ready to face them. Last match they have lost to Kerala FC in the second division league. But against Gokulam they will play with full strength,” he added.
The Squad
Satyajit Bordoloi (C), Muhammed Nishad PP
Lucky Emmanuel Akanji (Nigeria), Rajil S, Mohammed Jasim, Alex Saji, Stephen Abeiku Acquah (Ghana), Akhil J Chandran
Abhijith K, U Ganesan, Beautin Antony, Immanuvel John Britto, Gifty C Gracious, Jacob C, Thahir Zaman
Daniel BJ (Ghana), Nimshad Roshan, Lalrinzuala, Emil Benny
Head coach: Shajirudheen Kopilan

Subscribe our News Letter

Get all the updates from Gokulam Kerala FC